dRstel

pancit Bataan

In mostly carbs, sea creatures on June 16, 2005 at 6:51 am


pancit ng Orani, Bataan (one of husband’s favorite Filipino dishes)

i have posted this before but i wanted to show Beng the pancit from my lola’s hometown, Orani, famous for its seafood and patis (fish sauce) and arrowroot cookies (araro).
it is made with extra thick rice noodles and palabok sauce (fried garlic, shallots, shrimp head extract) and large quantities of seafood (shrimp and/or flaked crabmeat) and tinapa (smoked milkfish/bangus). here i used canned smoked mussels (couldn’t find smoked bangus boohoo) , sliced salted egg, scallions, and ground chicharon (fried pork rinds). my lola used to add sliced camias (bilimbi fruit) for tartness; she told me finely sliced green mangoes or pajo would work too. serve with calamansi or lime wedges and fish sauce. just like how anna banana takes it.

  1. drstel, after drooling at the picture I had to make one close to your recipe. I replaced the smoked mussels for smoked oysters. The Korean market close to our place didn’t carry that particular ingredient so I made do with what they offered. But, and that’s a BIG BUT, I did manage to buy some Spicy Prawn Soup… well worth it! I’m just kickin’ myself for not taking any picture of the dish. Had to invite my “Mommy Dearest” for dinner so I was in a rush to please her. My guess it turned out great cuz I gave her some to take home, then she calls me the next morning to give her the left overs that I had. *Makes me proud!*Jean

  2. hi Jean, i always thought it was just pancit palabok eaten at the Orani, Bataan market whenever we went to visit…heehee. just use thicker rice noodles and extra smoked fish. i’ll send you the palabok sauce recipe if you like.

  3. Never heard of Pancit Bataan but it does look good! I looked it up and came up with this site: http://www.pcij.org/i-report/1/pancit2.htmlScroll down to “Pancit ng Bataan”. Jean

  4. stellie,hay sarap naman! i love pancit, and for sure ill jot this down and try to do it for my upcoming housewarming party! salamat! salamat! muah!

  5. hellocarms! nice of you to visit, i’ve been to your kitchen, lurking…have a great weekend.sha! where in the world is you?it’s just a palabok with extra seafood but the thick noodles make it scrumptious…makes me nostalgic for days on the beach, eating watermelon…ingat!beng, just as long as you can find whole shrimps w/ heads and shells, kayang kaya ma’am…have a warm and sunny weekend too.

  6. stel darling it really looks “delikat” tumulo laway ko habang nakatitig sa picture nitong pansit bataan mo :)thanks for showing it to me…kinopya ko na ang palabok recipe mo. i’ll see kong kaya ko itong lutuin. wish me goodluck 😉

  7. great kitchen you’ve got here… saw you at thess suplada’s page… that pancit looks yummy, another variety of pancit… will visit again…

  8. This post has been removed by a blog administrator.

  9. stel NEVER EVER HAD THIS BEFORE, not even the name let alone a taste.. i will copy ha? may % ba for copyrights?great work as usual … i cooked munggo.

Leave a comment